everything you’ve ever wanted

so let me ask you this…
what is it that you wanted yesterday?
what do you want today?
what do you think you will want tomorrow?

some of the answers to these questions will vary over the years and some will stay the same our entire life through

what we want drives us or paralyzes us, it can bring us great joy or great sorrow, it can either fill our heart or break it

so lately i’ve been asking myself
what is it that I wanted yesterday?
what do I want today?
what do I think I will want tomorrow?

and the answers to the questions have varied over the years and some have stayed the same my entire life through

but what I have seen, and what I am sure of is this…
there are things that I thought I wanted yesterday that standing in today I realize were not meant for me,
there are things that I thought I wanted yesterday that would’ve led me down roads that didn’t lead to the life I’m in today,
there are things that I thought I wanted yesterday that broke me and brought me to a more beautiful today

and for all the things I wanted and never had, I am thankful. those closed doors were the guidance that brought me to the fullness of what right now holds, the God that was faithful before will be faithful again and I know in the midst of wanting that there is a purpose in waiting…

I wish we could see everything we’ve ever wanted only to more loudly and surely declare that where God is bringing us is far better than anything else we could ever ask or imagine. have peace when the answer is yes and have peace when the answer is no, what’s meant for you will never pass you. / amen


“If God gives such attention to the appearance of wildflowers—most of which are never even seen—don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you? What I’m trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving. People who don’t know God and the way he works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how he works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met. Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.” Matthew 6:30-34

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

reflections on a sunrise

((from the rising of the sun to the place where it sets, the name of the LORD is to be praised.)) PSALM 113:3 have you ever seen the sky open its sleepy eyes? have you ever watched a still gray morning fade into brilliant light? have you... Continue →